Skip navigation
The Australian National University


The Australian National University houses over 70 academics in eight centres and programs. Research is conducted in all the major areas of political science, political history, international relations, public administration, public policy and political philosophy.

The ANU has been recognised as the top university in Australia for political science and in the top three in Asia (Shanghai Jiao Tong University Rankings). It is the only Australian University that regularly enters the top twenty universities for the study of politics in the world (Times Higher Education Ranking, Hix Ranking). It has received five-star ratings in the Good Universities Guide for research grants, research intensity, generic skills arising from and overall satisfaction with the educational experience, and graduate starting salary.

Research is conducted in a number of centres and the ANU is a hub for a wide range of visiting speakers and long-term visitors from around the world. It hosts a number of Australian and international journals in political science (including Australian Journal of Political Science; Australian Journal of Public Administration, Public Administration, Journal of Political Philosophy; Journal of Theoretical Politics). The breadth and depth of its coverage in the study of politics makes it an ideal location for visitors, graduate students and undergraduates interested in the latest developments in the study of politics.

Updated: 24 September 2008/ Responsible Officer:  CASS External Relations / Page Contact:  CASS External Relations